Half-minded Living

Eight o’clock in the evening. Dinner’s finished and we started clearing the table to set for our weekly Bible study. After a short prayer, I raised a general question to the group , “How do you respond when you’re worried?”

Many are reluctant to answer but eventually shared. Interestingly, I can relate to some of their responses. I do have a fair share of revelation myself.

I eat a lot. And I eat more when anxiety creeps in.

Ever since a kid, I got secured with familiarity. Deviations in my structured way of living can lead me to worry much (and my palms start to sweat profusely; good thing, I don’t wet my pants that easily!) Crossing the unknown does not only affect me physically and emotionally, it also results to unfavorable repercussions. The most troublesome would be is a plummeting productivity.

In his book, Traveling Light, Max Lucado clearly pointed out, “Anxiety splits our energy between today’s priorities and tomorrow’s problems. The result is half-minded living.”

It fits exactly what I’m going through. I haven’t and wouldn’t be able to achieve anything when I start worrying. But can my worries be removed? Most would say,”All it needs is faith.” Others would rationalize,”A little stress isn’t that harmful; choose optimism!”

In Psalm 23:2, David acknowledges,”You let me rest in fields of green grass. You lead me to streams of peaceful water(CEV).

I recently learned, shepherds craftily prepares a suitable field for his flock to graze on. He also makes certain that they are harmonious and safe from predators.

I can imagine how much time he gives and endures for the preparation—especially in an arid land with little vegetation!

He leads. He never removes nor replaces.

Life is always filled with things to worry about; it is how we allow God to answer it that matters most.

In the Bible,we are reassured,
“Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.”(Matthew 6:34, Message)

Unfortunately, our intellect dictates we should do something about it.

In three months, by God’s grace, I’ll be leaving the country…for good. Clearly, God orchestrated everything beyond reasoning. My main concerns right now are I don’t have a job waiting there and I’ll be leaving my parents and career behind. I drew comfort from the promise God gave at Matthew 6:33 which says,”Seek first God’s kingdom and what God wants. Then all your other needs will be met as well.”(NCV)

God wants me to pursue productivity and trust His sovereignty. He wants me to continue serving Him in His ministry while I’m still here. Most importantly, He wants me NOT to forsake vital relationships with my family and friends. He wants me to surrender what I think is best over to His leading.

God led me to understand worry makes me focus on the answers rather than the Source of answers. It’s not any different from doubting. I am realizing, when I begin to have doubts, God’s nearness appears to be just a feeling; that I can only be reassured if I can grasp His control over my circumstances.

Worrying does not acknowledge His sovereignty. Anxiety only brings half-minded living. Consequently, I miss out on so many, more important matters—even His purposes for me.

3 thoughts on “Half-minded Living

  1. Its nice kapatid! Seems like an extension of what we had discussed.

    I agree in every word and details you had provided. I always believe that in all our troubles and anxieties, only He can show the work-around!

  2. Congratulations bro! 🙂 New environment, new country..Tough! Im sure you’re gonna be fine, God will help you all through the way..He is faithful to His children and thats for sure 😉 Just incase, you know you’re always welcome to visit, stay or work here in Alberta. All the best bro! I hope to get a local phonecall from you soon 🙂 May God continue to bless you. Have a safe trip! Sayang wala ako dyan on your Bon voyage party ❤ Sa welcome party nalang..Lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

