Next In Line

Saturday.

“He’s online”, I gestured to my parents to sit next to me.

Ever since he migrated to Northern America, a weekly conversation with my brother through Skype is a regular schedule we do as a family. It has been three years and my parents’ remained enthusiastic learning more about his current living conditions. They are also very hopeful that, hereafter, the entire family will be united with him.

I am next in line. Nevertheless, I held back in uncertainty.

I always believe God is the giver of life. His light allows me to enjoy life.(Psalm 36:9). And I’m drawing my security from the blessings I received: family, career,church and friends. We went through struggles and difficulties as a family, and through these trials, I witnessed how God answered our concerns and gave the comfort we need.

However, my dad persuaded me to act on it seriously. In Colossians 3:20, Paul instructs: Children, obey your parents in all things, because this pleases the Lord.

In the Old Testament,”Solomon showed he loved the Lord by following the commands his father David had given him” (1 Kings 3:3). His devotion got rewarded: the Lord appeared to him in a dream offering to give whatever he desires! (1 Kings 3:5)

I began to realize life is all about Him and His perfect will for His children. God specifically positioned my parents above me to carry out His purposes for me.

“The reality is, life here is not what you expected it to be”, my brother shared.

“Finding work is not that simple. And unfortunately, the cost of living here is expensive”, he continued.

“There are people whom I learned are doing well right now. And we were offered help, right?”, my dad answered defensively.

“It isn’t wise to draw security from other people’s promises. They can only help as much as they can. It’s totally different when you’re here”, my brother revealed.

It isn’t hard for me to notice that despair suddenly veiled over their faces, but I still tried my best to remain optimistic about the situation.

“What’s more important now is that when I get there, we can both work things out”, I persisted holding on to that flickering hope.

“You would be surprised, I might get an offer from Hollywood!”, I cheerfully added.

“You mean Bollywood!”, my brother retorted back. Our silence broke into laughter.

Portions of the song “Blessings” inspire me when dealing on an elusive future:

“And all the while You hear each spoken need; yet Your love is way too much to give us lesser things.”

His thoughts for me are more numerous than the sand, higher than the heavens above, beyond my human mind can comprehend. His will for my life is clearly meant for my own good.

The song continues,”We doubt Your goodness, we doubt Your love; As if every promise from Your Word is not enough.”

He didn’t even spare His Son to redeem me from my sins so that I can have eternal life.

I completely understand and empathize with my brother’s situation especially the difficulty he’s trying to extricate himself from. He needs to pursue educational courses in order to upgrade himself. And while doing that, he needs a secure job to pay for his bills and survive each day.

A better perspective is found in Francis Kong’s latest book where he quoted ,”All experiences of life, indeed, serve to prove that the impediments thrown in the way of human advancement may, for the most part, be overcome by steady good conduct, honest zeal, activity, perseverance, and, above all, by a determinate resolution to surmount difficulties, and stand up manfully against misfortune.”

I need to hold on to Him.

In the book of Hebrews, Paul wrote,”So do not lose the courage you had in the past, which has a great reward. You must hold on, so you can do what God wants and receive what He has promised.(Hebrews 10:35-36)

I began to understand this is one of the reasons why God allowed my destiny to unfold differently from my plans. God wants His glory to be revealed to my family— most specially, to me.

I need to let go and let Him take the steering wheel. What I gained and achieved at present doesn’t matter anymore to where I’m going. Everything appears feeble compared to what God can do. I only pray that I may be blessed by what Solomon desired: a heart that understands.

I believe God holds my best interest at hand. At the right time, He will reveal His glory to my life wherever I may be. He was and would still be faithful to me and to the people I love even though most of the time I’m not.

3 thoughts on “Next In Line

  1. You’re next! Words that are a bit comforting yet alarming (I hope not).

    There are things that we need to consider and things that we need to ponder. If God puts you there, you’ll gonna make it work. God only gives way for us, but it is us who do the actions.

    You know what He’s telling you now? Maybe He’s saying: “Hang in there! Trust Me my child.”

  2. Im glad you are now aware how it is here..Remember, God did not promise its going to be easy but He promised He will help us get through šŸ™‚

    Let’s hope for your best..Kung hindi ka pihikan sa work, you can easily find one. ā¤

  3. I can somehow relate to what you are going through my brother; The song Blessings is also the very same song that I am holding on to to remind myself every time the enemy is trying to rob my hearts’ joy.

    The Lord has proved himself in our lives several times and things may still be unclear now but I know in His perfect time, He will reveal His great and amazing plans in our lives; Guess’ He’s still teaching us to be patient šŸ™‚

    Luv you bro!

Leave a Reply

