21 Guns and Peace

Each of us are provided with a piece of paper and a pencil.

“We will be having another short activity this time”, Ms. Seliger said.”And it will be more difficult than the first one we did this morning”, she teased.

I’ll be migrating abroad this September. To facilitate my successful integration, I need to attend seminars being conducted locally. This is my third one. Surprisingly, we have a foreign speaker.

“Doing your best stroke, kindly write your signature on the paper”, she instructed. Clueless of what she’s up to, we complied.

“Now, try rewriting it as similar as you can with your other hand”, she grinned.

We found ourselves smiling over the challenge to our dexterity. But it was a candid experience to savor.

Even though how much I tried, mine looked like the tail of Halley’s comet. Definitely, it’s beyond deciphering.

“I guess, most of you were unsuccessful”, she concluded.”But with frequent repetition and through time, you can almost do a perfect copy of it”, she said reassuringly.

My forthcoming “new life” will involve trials.

And starting my journey requires a period of acceptance, adjustment and integration. Initially, it would entail difficulty. To some, it may last indefinitely.

Whenever faced with such hurdles, we are often advised to keep on trying until we succeed in our endeavors. People encourage us God will never allow a test to happen in our lives that we can’t handle during the process.

We rationalize, retreat is not an option in order to be victorious.

I came across the lyrics of the song “21 Guns” by Greenday that made me think otherwise.

♪Do you know what’s worth fighting for?
When it’s not worth dying for?
Does it take your breath away
And you feel yourself suffocating?♬

I’m leaving behind a big part of my life: family, church, friends and career. Included in it, expenses escalate and consequently, savings depreciate.

This decision raises a big challenge on my sense of security. And the preparation eventually became an ordeal for me.

I began to ask myself:”Am I exhausting my time and energy fighting the wrong battle in my current situation?”

I am learning from the prophet Jeremiah, our lives are not our own. We are not able to plan our own course(Jeremiah 10:23).

This gives me a new perspective to dwell on.

The song continues,

♪One, 21 guns
Lay down your arms, give up the fight
One, 21 guns
Throw up your arms into the sky, you and I ♬

It was called 21 guns for ships usually have seven cannons, and since ground- based cannons had more available ammunition, navy policy stated that when under attack, two shots would be fired for every one shot fired from a ship.(Wikipedia,2011)

Gun salutes stem from naval tradition, where a warship would fire its cannons harmlessly out to sea, surrendering all its ammunition, to show that it was disarmed, signifying the lack of hostile intent.(Wikipedia,2011)

Webster’s dictionary defines surrender as “to give up possession of or power over”. It means yielding over ownership, relinquishing control over what we consider ours.

Despite who He is and the power and authority He has, Jesus modeled surrender by His servant attitude. To His disciples He said, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me, and to finish His work.” (John 4:34)

Once, I tried running my own life for years and not achieving a real sense of accomplishment or worth.

I confess,until today, I only intend to share the steering wheel of my life. And not totally have someone take over. When the burden becomes overwhelming, I look for ways of escape. At least, I thought, I still have a grip over my situation.

What is that surety which I cling on to, even though deep down inside I know I would be better off if I gave it up?


 

Andrew Murray encourages, God is ready to assume full responsibility for the life WHOLLY yielded to Him.

 

 

 

When we start to give up control of our lives, it means that we cease to make our desires a matter of importance.

God promises,”If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.”(Jeremiah 29:13)

♪When you’re at the end of the road
And you lost all sense of control
And your thoughts have taken their toll
When your mind breaks the spirit of your soul♬

Does relinquishing control over our situations mean we become powerless over it?

Paul wrote in the book of Hebrews, God will equip us with all we need
for doing His will through the power of Jesus Christ (Hebrews 13:21)

My relationship with Him made me understand His will for my life is far better than any momentary gain offered by what I know best–but I can only know that victory if I fully surrender my desires to Him.

I read the act of surrendering is not a passive action: Godly surrender charges forward regardless of opposition or cost. The person relies on Godly wisdom and knowledge sometimes defying ‘human logic’.(Gorman,2010)

I drew promise and hope from what the Psalmist wrote: Our lives, every detail of it, is important to God. He is willing to lead us where we should go once we’re willing to let Him handle our lives. And the best part of it, He knows there are trials ahead. He promises, when we stumble, we will never fall, for the LORD holds us by the hand.(Psalm 37:23-24, emphasis mine)

I only need to do what God wants me to do on a daily basis.

One thought on “21 Guns and Peace

Leave a Reply

