Broken But Healed

Seven thousand miles away from home, I miss the security I used to have. In all fairness to myself, I was starting to embrace the challenge of independent living—until, recently, my left arm got injured after a bad fall.

Unable to work, I persevered like a one-armed soldier. At home, I still pursued making myself useful. ‘Have you ever heard of a one-armed cook?( Fortunately, I haven’t burned anything yet). I even managed to wash the dishes single-handedly(literally).

 

My growing concern over being temporarily out of work did not diminish. Reality unpleasantly reminded me that I’m still in the process of establishing my career. In his popular devotional, Oswald Chambers wrote,”The agony we suffer is only the result of the deliberate shallowness of our own heart. We won’t believe; we won’t let go by severing the line that secures the boat to the shore— we prefer to worry.”

 

Most frequently, God does His deepest work in our lives in the midst of our struggles. I only have to open the lock of security.

 

And turn over the key to Him.

“With all your heart, you must trust the LORD and not your own judgment. Always let Him lead you, and He will clear the road for you to follow. Don’t ever think that you are wise enough, but respect the LORD and stay away from evil. This will make you healthy, and you will feel strong.” (Proverbs 3:5-8, NCV)

Unnecessary worry will only make me feel discouraged and lose the willingness to move on.

 

God made me realize, He never left my side and He has always been faithful in protecting and comforting me. Instead of having a concussion, I only had a broken arm. He made it easier for me to bear the pain while waiting for my turn in the emergency room. He anointed people who lovingly took care of me. He also blessed me the wisdom on how to be creative in utilizing only one functional arm.

 

Each day offers another mountain, another uphill battle. God is teaching me, in going through each climb , trusting Him weighs more than my personal judgment. And then unexplainable peace happens. The climb goes on.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Broken But Healed

  1. Sorry to hear you had an accident..but it’s great to hear you’ve started to have positive realizations about the incident. Yes, it’s just another hump on the road. Only in the days to come will you know the reason why it had to happen. And yes, at least yun lang, not a something so much worse!

    Hang in there and turn the key over to Him.

Leave a Reply

