Stepping Back

 

Me….cook?”, I readily dismissed the likelihood of doing so.

 

 

 

I firmly believe that passion is essential in any endeavour I would be engaging in. Honestly, cooking is not on my list. I resigned myself on the alternative that food can always be outsourced.

As a child, I relish on smelling the aroma of my mom’s cooking every morning.

I do know how to use a skillet and any food that goes with it. ( as long as I won’t end up burning something along the process.)

Living independently is quite challenging especially when I’m just beginning my career and I only have modest resources. My first few months in Canada taught me to keep everything within a budget. Buying a burger meal from McDonald’s everyday is considered a form of luxury.

However, I am learning there is a big difference between responding and reacting to my present circumstances.

In the Book of Romans,God promises, “He makes all things work together for the good of those who love Him.”(Romans 8:28, NIV)

God is developing a new skill in me in the midst of my present situation.

I encountered the following recipe in which I took the liberty of modifying to tailor-fit it with my available ingredients.

 

Pesto Potato with Bacon and Cheese

 

Ingredients:

One potato cut into bite-size chunks

2 evenly sliced tomatoes

2 tbsp pre-made pesto sauce

shredded cheese

5-8 bacon strips, cut into bite sizes

salt and pepper

¼ tsp Magic ginisa mix

¼ tsp chopped garlic

 

 

Carefully lay the bacon strips in a non-stick frying pan and fry for 5-6 minutes over medium heat, or until crisp and golden-brown.

 

 

Remove it from the pan then cut the bacon strips to bite-size pieces. (it is really tempting to just eat them and forget about the entire recipe.)

 

Add chopped garlic at the bacon drippings. Then lay the potatoes on it undisturbed for 3-4 minutes until golden and crisp; turn and cook, tossing occasionally, until golden all over, about 2 minutes. Season it with salt, pepper and magic ginisa mix to taste. Stir in the tomatoes and cook until heated through, about 2 minutes. Remove from the heat, add the bacon and stir in the pesto. Then top it with a layer of cheese.

 

Hmmmm….tomatoes, pesto, and cheese really go great together. And I am just discovering it.

Passion is subjective. It is shaped by our interests. Our interests broaden when we step back and see the bigger picture. It leads us to develop a stronger conviction. Our interests change eventually.

Nick Vujicic, a motivational speaker, inspires us, “The challenges in our lives are there to strengthen our convictions. They are not there to run us over.”

For God promises in Jeremiah 29:11,“I have good plans for you. I don’t plan to hurt you. I plan to give you hope and a good future.”

Life always has something more than what we already thought it contains.

 

 

Leave a Reply

